

## ANNOUNCEMENT

Within the framework of the Alternative Investment Fund Managers Law that was enacted on 4 July 2013, transposing the European Directive on Alternative Investment Fund Managers (AIFMD) into national law and the promotion of investments in this sector, the Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission (CySEC) has recently signed Memoranda of Understanding and Cooperation (MoUs) for the enhanced supervision of Alternative Investment Fund Managers with various non-EU authorities.

The existence of co-operation arrangements between the EU and non-EU authorities is a precondition of the AIFMD for allowing managers based outside the EU to access EU markets or perform fund management by delegation from EU managers.

Although cooperation arrangements were negotiated by the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA), on behalf of the EU authorities, the MoUs were bilaterally signed between the each EU securities regulator and the non-EU authorities. The CySEC has already signed MoUs with the following non-EU authorities:

- 1. Financial Supervisory Authority of Albania Albania
- 2. Australian Securities and Investments Commission Australia
- 3. Bermuda Monetary Authority Bermuda
- 4. Comissão de Valores Mobiliários do Brasil Brasil
- British Virgin Islands Financial Services Commission British Virgin Islands
- 6. Alberta Securities Commission Canada
- 7. Autorité des Marchés Financiers du Quebec Canada
- 8. British Columbia Securities Commission Canada
- 9. Ontario Securities Commission Canada
- 10. Cayman Islands Monetary Authority Cayman Islands
- 11. Dubai Financial Services Authority Dubai
- 12. Guernsey Financial Services Commission Guernsey
- 13. Hong Kong Monetary Authority Hong Kong
- 14. Securities and Futures Commission Hong Kong
- 15. Securities and Exchange Board of India India
- 16. Financial Supervision Commission of the Isle of Man Isle of Man
- 17. Israel Securities Authority Israel
- 18. Financial Services Agency of Japan
- 19. Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries of Japan Japan
- 20. Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry of Japan Japan
- 21. Jersey Financial Services Commission Jersey
- 22. Labuan Financial Services Authority Labuan
- 23. Financial Services Commission of Mauritius Mauritius
- 24. Securities and Exchange Commission of Montenegro Montenegro

- 25. Conseil Déontologique des Valeurs Mobilières of Morocco Morocco
- 26. Securities and Exchange Commission of Pakistan Pakistan
- 27. Monetary Authority of Singapore Singapore
- 28. Republic of Srpska Securities Commission Srpska
- 29. Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA) Switzerland
- 30. Capital Markets and Securities Authority of Tanzania Tanzania
- 31. Securities and Exchange Commission Thailand Thailand
- 32. Emirates Securities and Commodities Authority UAE
- 33. Federal Reserve Board USA
- 34. Office of the Comptroller of the Currency USA
- 35. Securities and Exchange Commission USA

The main aim of the signing of the MoUs is to facilitate the cross-border supervision of the entities subject to the AIFMD such as managers of alternative investment funds, depositaries and entities performing tasks under delegation by the manager. Thus, these MoUs are a significant step towards the further development of the alternative investment funds industry as they will enable the non-EU AIFs to be marketed in the EU.

Additionally, it is expected that these MoUs will result in an even closer inter-jurisdictional cooperation between financial authorities, facilitating the exchange of information, cross-border on-site visits and mutual assistance in the enforcement of the respective supervisory laws.

The CySEC expects that the timely harmonization of the national regulatory framework with the AIFMD and cooperation in this sector will favor the development of the market of collective investments in Cyprus, enhancing the promotion of alternative investment products.

Furthermore, the CySEC expects that the procedures for signing the MoUs with the following non-EU financial authorities will soon be completed:

- 1. Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada
- 2. Securities and Exchange Commission of the Republic of Macedonia (FYROM) FYROM
- 3. Capital Markets Authority of Kenya Kenya
- 4. Securities Commission Malaysia
- 5. National Banking and Securities Commission of the United Mexican States Mexico
- 6. Commodity Futures Trading Commission USA

## Nicosia, 18 September 2013

This unofficial English text is for information purposes only.

The official text is in the Greek language.